Skip to main content

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum seeks to provide quality and consistency in all settings. We aim to provide a secure foundation through learning, which is planned for the individual needs and interests of each child. Partnership working between practitioners and parents is a vital component of our EYFS provision, plus equality of opportunity, making sure every child is supported and included.


The four principles of the EYFS


  • A Unique Child Every child is a competent learner who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Positive Relationships Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and a key person.
  • Enabling Environments The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s learning and development.
  • Learning and Development Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected


The seven areas of Learning and development


The Early Years Foundation Stage has seven areas of learning and development.  Along with early learning goals,which summarise the knowledge, skills and understanding that all young children should have gained by the end of the Reception year, the EYFS has seven areas of learning and development set out in the Statutory Framework.
Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

There are four additional areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. 

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive arts and design

The Avenue Pre-Preparatory School and Nursery (DfE URN 309/6084) has met all the necessary conditions to take up an exemption from the learning and development requirements in the 2021 EFYS for children aged 3 and over. This is not an exemption from the EFYS safeguarding and welfare requirements and these still apply.